23 

There it went. I turned 23. I can no longer relate to Taylor Swift’s number one hit from 2014. Damn.

In all reality, my birthday was no big deal. I had kind of forgotten how old I was anyway and, at times, had thought I was already 23, or even 24.  What actually made it a special day was that I got to celebrate with my friends in our original training community in Nueva Esperanza. Seeing as we’re back for our reconnect training, it was only fitting to throw a joint birthday party for Hannah, who’s birthday was the 23rd, and myself on Hannah’s rooftop, as we’ve done for every birthday before. Cake, guacamole, sangria, and good music made it a real party and my first birthday in Paraguay was one for the books. Now, my 23rd year will be spent entirely in Paraguay and I can’t wait to see how it develops. 

Thank you for all of the birthday wishes, I miss everyone back home and am so thankful that I feel loved both here and in the US. 

2 thoughts on “23 

  1. Glad to hear you had a happy birthday! Soon, you’ll be one of those old-timers (PCV for a year)! Isn’t the transformation amazing?

    Like

Leave a Reply

